Welcome to week 5 of Socially Sublime. This week we’ve got a GT and Pokémon flavour going on.

Well, after Black Falcon hooked up with Linkin Park, things can only get stranger (or is it cooler?) I suppose…

As ever, don’t forget to vote for your favourite at the bottom!

1. NISSAN’S REAR LIGHTS

Following the advent of Pokémon Go, Nissan aren’t the only team to have made a gag about the game, but I found this pretty cool! Unorthodox way of picking up fans prior to the Spa 24h? If it works, it works…

2. McLAREN’S FAN ENGAGEMENT

Being serious for a minute, this is pretty cool from McLaren. Fans appreciate small things like this. When we follow sport and a team/driver in particular we like to feel a part of it in any way possible. Generally speaking, the paying public are mugs. We she’ll out the money to line people’s pockets and we get a few hours of entertainment from it. Those realistic enough to recognise this are perhaps the most likely to appreciate small things like this.

Fan engagement within GT3 racing is crucial and giving fans activities and opportunities to use their brain to help the brand is a great way to keep them keen.

3. KARUN CHANDHOK SAYING WHAT EVERYONE’S THINKING

I’m gonna hold my hands up here, I’m far from Karun’s biggest fan. But as a pundit, I think he’s excelling. Despite his decidedly average racing career, his knowledge is strong and he’s always a good source of information, realism and level-headedness, as he proved here.

Nice one Karun, sometimes it just has to be said!

4. MARLON STOCKINGER UNLEASHES HIS INNER CHILD

Yup, another Pokémon Go-related entry! Stockinger is one of my favourite Am drivers out there so I do tend to keep an eye on what he’s doing on Twitter. This week, he’s catching Charmanders, apparently!

5. 24 HOURS OF SPA – BERND SCHNEIDER

OK, I’m guilty of picking this simply because I’m excited about visiting Spa next week. I’ll hold my hands up there. But come on, it’s a pretty nice, short video! Getting the greatest DTM driver of all time and an all-round racing legend to chat for a minute or so isn’t a bad way to publicise the event either.

What do you guys think? Share your thoughts with us! You can also follow us on Facebook here and my Twitter profile can be found here. If you enjoyed this post, please share it!

